Parking Lot Update

The UNC-owned Morehead parking lot is under construction. Weekday visitors must pay using ParkMobile (Zone Code 4468) or the Pay Station near our iguana. For more info, go to our Plan A Visit page.


Morehead is led by passionate professionals with expertise in science education, curriculum development, experiential design, business operations, and development.
Learn more about Todd Boyette

A lifelong educator, Boyette is just the fifth director in Morehead’s 75-year history. During his time at Morehead, Boyette has expanded outreach programming, spearheaded the transition from analog to digital fulldome planetarium technology, and launched the North Carolina Science Festival. He is currently a member of UNC School of Education’s clinical faculty and recently served as president of the Association of Science Museum Directors. Prior to becoming Morehead director in 2006, Boyette was president of the North Carolina Grassroots Science Museums Collaborative, president and CEO of The Health Adventure in Asheville, NC, and director of Imagination Station in Wilson, NC. Boyette holds a doctoral degree in science education from North Carolina State University. He also holds a master’s degree in science education and bachelor’s degrees in science education and chemistry. He is a former high school chemistry teacher.

Durham is responsible for Morehead’s finances, human resources, information technology, building, and retail operations. She started working at UNC-Chapel Hill in the anesthesiology department in 2000 as finance/administration manager before moving to the Institute for Science Learning. She joined the Morehead team in 2006. Durham holds a bachelor’s degree in finance from Belmont University and MBA from the University of Washington.
Learn more about Crystal Harden

Harden manages educational programs and access initiatives for Morehead, including on-site and outreach programming and the North Carolina Science Festival. She collaborates with faculty, researchers, and communities to develop and implement accessible STEM curricula for broadening participation in STEM. Harden is the founder of the Science for All Summit. Before joining Morehead in 2008, she served as an educational consultant for the California Department of Education. She also served as an expert on mobile science programs for the US Department of State in Amman, Jordan. Harden holds a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from North Carolina Central University and a master’s degree and doctorate in education from UNC-Chapel Hill.

Kloda and her team work together to develop engaging exhibits, educational interactives, digital productions, games, and immersive media technology for Morehead’s Chapel Hill location, as well as for venues throughout the state and other parts of the country. Prior to joining Morehead in 2022, Michele spent over a decade developing visitor experiences as the director of learning environments at the Museum of Life and Science in Durham, NC. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in biology from Wells College and a certificate in non-profit management from Duke University.

Ridley leads development, external relations, marketing, and communications functions for Morehead. She manages the charitable contributions, including corporate and foundation support, that enable Morehead’s impactful work. She strives to inform and engage a broad range of constituencies across the state of North Carolina and beyond. Before joining Morehead in 2021, she served as director of development and external affairs at the UNC Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute. She holds a bachelor’s degree in developmental psychology from Duke University and master’s degree in counseling psychology from Teachers College, Columbia University.

Morehead Advisory Board

Brigid Troan, Chair

Kenji Brantley

Anita Brown-Graham

Al Childers

Tiffany Holung

David King

Alex Knapp

Stephani Page

Than Powell

Davida Rivens

Lauren Rivers

Benjamin Saunders Jr.

Lori Beth Wittlin

James Yankaskas

Richard Hibbits, emeritus

Florence Peacock, emeritus

Charles Sanders, emeritus

Morehead Faculty Advisory Council

Rich Superfine, Chair

Cheryl Mason Bolick

Jeff Dangl

Bradley Hemminger

Terry Magnuson

Laurie McNeil

Dan Reichart

Michael Terry